Sisters Rocks, Frankport

See more pictures of Sisters Rocks here

Sisters Rocks is a minor headland 7 miles (11 km) south of Humbug Mountain and 20 miles (32 km) north of Cape Sebastian, near the abandoned town of Frankport, Oregon. There are three isolated peaks, two attached to the mainland, and the third just offshore, bordered north and south by smaller sea stacks and grey sand beaches. The area is managed by Oregon Parks and Recreation and can be accessed from U.S. Highway 101.

Frankport is a ghost town established by gold prospectors in the 1850s. All that remains today are a few rusty iron objects scattered throughout Frankport Beach and the faint reminders of several structures. The town was named for the S.H. Frank Tannery in Redwood City, California that built a deepwater dock. The dock became economically important to the area and was mostly used to load coastal schooners with tanbark used historically for tanning leather. Frankport’s shipping dock closed in 1905 and the town was soon abandoned.

Sisters Rocks is now an Oregon State Park that was acquired in 2005 using state lottery funds. The park remains undeveloped and unmarked from the coast highway, making it less visited than many others along the south coast. Beaches extend to the north and south of Sisters Rocks and cliff faces and tidepools are home to diverse marine plants and animals. Read more here and here. Download the latest version of the CoastView app and explore more of Sisters Rocks here:


web counter code