See more pictures of Boca de Quadra here
The Cape Fox Packing Company cannery operated from 1883 to 1886, and the ruins remain on the north shore of Boca de Quadra about 39 miles (62 km) southeast of Ketchikan, Alaska. Boca de Quadra is a fjord extending southwest from the Keta River to Revillagigedo Channel in Southeastern Alaska. It was named in 1792 for Captain Juan Francisco de la Bodega y Quadra, for his expeditions and surveys in the region in 1775-79. The name was adopted by Captain George Vancouver of the Royal Navy who explored this estuary on August 6, 1793.
The Cape Fox Packing Company cannery was one of the first canneries in Alaska built in 1883 by M.J. Kinney of Astoria, Oregon. In the winter of 1886, Kinney sold the operation to fellow Astorian Captain A.W. Berry who owned the Tongass Packing Company and decided to relocate the operation to Tongass Narrows near a large stream, aptly named Fish Creek near present day Ketchikan. The structure at Boca de Quadra burned 1889.
Cape Fox Packing Company was named after Cape Fox, a headland on the east shore of Revillagigedo Channel, 4 miles (6.5 km) south of Boca de Quadra. After Alaska was purchased by the United States in 1867, the American government established a military base near Cape Fox on Tongass Island. Cape Fox was the site of an ancient Native village that in 1880 was reported to have 100 Tlingits living there. Read more here and here. Download the latest version of the CoastView app and explore more of Boca de Quadra here: