See more pictures of San Juan Cove here
San Juan Cove is a small embayment on the north shore of Tutka Bay, 3 miles (5 km) off Kachemak Bay, about 13 miles (21 km) south-southeast of Homer and 11 miles (18 km) east of Seldovia, Alaska. San Juan Island lies 0.5 miles (0.8 km) from the north shore of the cove. An overhead power cable with a clearance of 78 feet (24 m) crosses here where Tutka Bay is narrowest.
The island and the cove are named after the San Juan Fishing and Packing Company that installed canning machinery in existing saltery buildings in 1928 and operated for three years. Fish were mostly caught by company-owned purse seiners and fish traps, the remains of some wooden piles can still be seen on the Homer Spit. The property was sold to the Fidalgo Island Packing Company that was also operating the cannery at Port Graham and they dismantled the facility in 1934.
San Juan Fishing and Packing was a company that started in the fresh fish business in Seattle in 1899. They built the first cold storage plant in Alaska at Taku Harbor in 1901, and a salmon cannery in Seward in 1917 that was later moved to Port San Juan at Sawmill Bay on Evans Island in 1924. In 1926, they built a cannery called Port O’Brien on Kodiak Island at Northeast Arm, Uganik Bay that was purchased by New England Fish Company in 1966-1967. Read more here and here. Download the latest version of the CoastView app and explore more of San Juan Cove here: