See more pictures of Rose Inlet here
Rose Inlet is an estuary that extends southwest for 2.5 miles (4 km) off Tlevak Strait, on the east coast of Dall Island, Alaska. Dall Island is about 47 miles (76 km) long and 9 miles (14.5 km) wide, located on the north shore of Dixon Entrance. Dall Island was first called Quadra, after Juan Francisco de la Bodega y Quadra, until 1879, when it was renamed in honor of naturalist William H. Dall who was a member of the Harriman Alaska Expedition in 1899.
The Weise Packing Company built and operated the Rose Inlet Cannery until 1918, when it was sold to Southern Alaska Canning Company. In 1922, the company name was changed to Alaska Consolidated Canneries. Alaska Consolidated was purchased by Alaska Pacific Salmon Company in 1929 to become the second largest processor operating in Alaska. In 1940, the company sold its holdings to P.E. Harris & Company that maintained the cannery at Rose Inlet until about 1949.
Dall Island is entirely within the Tongass National Forest and is used primarily for logging, limestone quarrying, and fishing. Cape Muzon is the southernmost point of the island and is also known as Point A, the western terminus of the line that marks the marine boundary between the state of Alaska and the Canadian province of British Columbia. The position of the line was decided by an arbitration tribunal under the Alaska Boundary Treaty of 1903. This line is also the northern boundary of the waters known as the Dixon Entrance. Read more here and here. Download the latest version of the CoastView app and explore more of Rose Inlet here: