See more pictures of Coquille River Light here:
The Coquille River Light is located at the mouth of the Coquille River and is currently maintained by the Oregon Parks and Recreation Department as part of Bullards Beach State Park near Bandon, Oregon.
Originally named Bandon Light, the construction of Coquille River Light was commissioned in 1895 and completed on February 29, 1896 when it was first turned on. The light guided mariners past the dangerously shifting sandbars into the Coquille River and harbor at Bandon. The light contained a fourth-order Fresnel lens and connected to the nearby keeper’s house by a wooden walkway. In September 1936, a large wildfire swept through the surrounding area, and destroyed most of Bandon. The town soon became bankrupt as a result of the decline in shipping. Coquille Light was decommissioned in 1939 and replaced by an automated light on the south jetty. Over the next 37 years, the condition of the light deteriorated due to neglect and vandalism.
In 1963, the Oregon State Parks Division leased the lighthouse and surrounding Bullards Beach property from the U.S. Army Corp of Engineers and the two agencies began restoring the structure in 1978. However, by this time, the keeper’s quarters and other outbuildings had deteriorated past the point of repair and were eventually removed. In 1991, a new solar powered light was installed in the tower. Read more here and here. Download the latest version of the CoastView app and explore more of Coquille River Light here: