See more pictures of Delarof Harbor here:
Unga is an abandoned village on Delarof Harbor, on the southeast coast of Unga Island, in the Shumagin Islands, Alaska. Unga was first settled by Aleuts in 1833 as a fur trading post. The "Ounga" post office was established in 1888, changed its name to Unga in 1894, and was discontinued in 1958 after most residents moved to nearby Sand Point.
Delarof Harbor is a cove about 0.8 miles (1.3 km) across, named by Captain Tebenkov, of the Imperial Russian Navy, in 1852. The name is probably for the Greek-born Eustrate Ivanovich Delarov, who was director of the Russian-American Company in about 1784-91. Delarov was the first documented Greek explorer and merchant to arrive in Alaska. He was an accomplished mariner who explored the Alaska coast in the late 18th and early 19th century on behalf of the Russian-American Company.
In 1969, the last family moved from Unga and now the town is no longer occupied year-round. The area is still a subsistence use site for residents of Sand Point. The only means of transportation is by float plane or boat. Read more here and here. Click here to download the CoastView app and explore more of Unga and Delarof Harbor.