See more pictures of Sadie Cove here:
Sadie Cove is an embayment, about 0. 7 miles (1.1 km) wide, on the southeast shore of Kachemak Bay, on the Kenai Peninsula, about 10 miles (16 km) northeast of Seldovia, Alaska. The bay was named by W. H. Dall, of the U.S. Coast and geodetic Survey, in 1880, for Sarah [Sadie] Eldred, the wife of Marcus Baker. Marcus Baker was a naturalist who accompanied Dall in 1872 on an expedition to Alaska to collect topographic and hydrographic data.
On the north shore of Sadie Cove there is a small cluster of buildings occupying a private inholding in Kachemak Bay State Wilderness Park. The Sadie Cove Boatworks was a sawmill and shop that salvaged beach logs and milled lumber. The shop produced a series of wooden boats including work skiffs, small sailboats, and a 42 feet (12 m) commercial fishing schooner. In the 1970's old growth hemlock and Sitka spruce were cut from the northern Gulf of Alaska coastal forests and over 6 million board feet was exported every three weeks. State law required that cut logs were locally milled so they were hauled to tidewater, assembled into huge rafts or loaded onto barges, and then towed to industrial sawmills, one of which was located in neighboring Jakolof Bay.
Many logs escaped during storms and went adrift to eventually be salvaged by local residents. The operation in Sadie Cove milled these drift logs into lumber for use in local construction projects, and the best straight grained spruce was save for boat lumber. Read more here and here. Read more about the boat shop in Woodenboat Magazine Issue 124. Click here to download the CoastView app and explore more of Sadie Cove and Kachemak Bay.