See more pictures of Golden here:
Port Wells is an estuary in Prince William Sound that extends south for 14 miles (22.6 km) from the south end of College Fjord to Wells Passage, about 16 miles (25.8 km) east of Whittier, Alaska. Port Wells was named in 1794 by Captain George Vancouver, of the Royal Navy, possibly for Edward Wells, an English mathematician, geographer, and controversial theologian.
Gold and copper mining in Prince William Sound peaked during the early 1900's. The productive mines in 1915 included four copper mines and five gold mines. The value of the total mineral production of the Prince William Sound region was $1,340,996 in 1915. The gold quartz ores were treated locally in small stamp or roller mills, and the amalgamated concentrates were shipped to smelters at Tacoma, Washington. The regular producers were the Beatson Mine on Latouche Island, and the Ellamar Mine at Ellamar. Smaller operations included mines in Landlock Bay, Port Fidalgo, Knight Island, and Port Wells.
The largest mines in Port Wells were the Granite Mine at Hobo Bay, and the Golden Mine with an aerial tram at Golden. Golden is now an abandoned community located on the east side of Port Wells, about 28 miles (45 km) northeast of Whittier. The local name was established here by a post office in 1904 and discontinued in 1916. Read more here and here. Click here to download CoastView and explore the ghost town of Golden in Port Wells.