See more pictures of Lime Kiln Point here:
Lime Kiln Point is a 42 acre (17 ha) state park on the western shore of San Juan Island in the San Juan island Archipelago, Washington. The park was the site of lime kilns beginning in 1860, and one kiln has been restored as a public exhibit.
The San Juan Islands were part of the traditional area of various Coast Salish people including the Nooksack, Lummi, Klallam, Saanich, Samish and Songhees. These populations were decimated when Europeans brought smallpox to the area in the 1770s. The name "San Juan" was given to the islands by the Spanish explorer Francisco de Eliza, who charted the islands in 1791. Further explorations of the area were carried out by the Royal Navy with ships under the command of Captain George Vancouver. American explorations were led by Charles Wilkes in 1841. Despite having colonized the area entirely, the British and Americans retained many of the Spanish names which survive today.
Small industrial lime kilns were used as early as 1860 in the San Juan Islands to heat limestone to produce lime. This process has been used since early civilizations for building mortars. Because land transportation of minerals like limestone and coal was difficult in the pre-industrial era, they were more easily distributed by sea, and lime was most often manufactured at small coastal ports. The remains of many kilns can still to be seen where a readily accessible source of limestone, and coal or wood for firing the kilns, are close to a landing or port facility such as at Lime Kiln Point. Read more here and here. Click here to download the CoastView app and explore the lime kilns of San Juan Island.