See more pictures of Lime Kiln Light here:
The Lime Kiln Light was established in 1914 overlooking Dead Man's Bay and Haro Strait on the west coast of San Juan Island, Washington. The San Juan Islands were first visited by Europeans in 1794 when Spanish explorer Francisco de Eliza sailed under the authority of the Viceroy of Mexico.
In the 1860s, acetylene lights were placed on Lime Kiln Point, a name derived from the active lime kilns there. These lights were updated five years later with an octagonal concrete tower rising 38 feet (12 m) from the fog signal building, and two light keeper's houses. The lighthouse is built atop solid rock, about 20 feet (6 m) above high water. The tower’s helical-bar lantern room, which was fabricated by Wisconsin Iron and Wire Works of Milwaukee, has a diameter of just over 7 feet (2.1 m), and is encircled by a concrete deck and gallery. A fourth-order Fresnel lens was added to the tower in 1919.
The U.S. Coast Guard automated the light in 1962 and in 1998 the drum lens was replaced with a modern optic, flashing a white light once every 10 seconds. Sitting on the rocky shoreline at a height of 55 feet (17 m), the beacon is visible for 15 nautical miles (27 km) to guide ships through Haro Strait. Read more here and here. Download the latest version of the CoastView app and explore more Lime Kiln Light here: