See more pictures of Tillamook Light here:
Tillamook Rock Light is a deactivated lighthouse located near Tillamook Head, Oregon. The light is on a small basalt islet about 1.2 miles (1.9 km) offshore and 20 miles (32 km) south of the Columbia River.
The light was first activated on January 21, 1881, after 575 days of construction, and was assigned with four keepers. Duty at Tillamook Light was considered difficult due to the isolation from civilization, and the severe weather conditions. The light was nicknamed "Terrible Tilly", for the stormy conditions at its location.
Frequent storm damage and difficult access contributed to this being the most expensive U.S. lighthouse to operate. It was decommissioned in 1957 and sold to private owners. Read more here and here. See a short video here. Click here to download the CoastView app and explore Tillamook Rock.