See more pictures of Twin Hills here:
Twin Hills is a native village at head of Togiak Bay, Alaska. In 1880, Petroff recorded two villages, "Togiagamute," and "Togiak Station," both located at the mouth of the river and about 7 miles (11 km) apart. The southernmost "Togiak Station" has been called "Owens," so named according to Frank Waskey, a local trader and prospector, for Johnny Owens who operated this important trading post. Twin Hills predecessor village of Togiagamute was abandoned with the removal of most of its residents to the "new" Togiak on the opposite side of Togiak Bay.
Extremely high tidal surges caused by intensive storms in the Bering Sea can flood low lying wetlands with up to 12 feet (3.6 m) of water in shallow embayments like Togiak Bay. The village of Twin Hills was established at the head of Togiak Bay in 1965 by families who moved from the village of Togiak to avoid recurring floods.
A severe storm accompanied by high winds and coastal flooding drove a World War II-era Navy ship far up the Twin Hills River. When the waters receded the ship became grounded in the Togiak National Wildlife Refuge near the village and was abandoned. Read more here and here. Click here to download the CoastView app and explore Togiak Bay.