See more pictures of Chernofski Harbor here:
Chernofski Harbor is about 0.7 mile (1.1 km) across, located on the southwest coast of Unalaska Island, Alaska. The name is Russian and first published in 1792 by Lieutenant Sarichev of the Imperial Russian Navy. The harbor is presumably named after the Russian family name of Chernof and nearby village of Chernofski. The village is now abandoned but in 1831 it consisted of 4 huts.
Chernofski Harbor was an operational U.S. Navy base from 1942 until June 1945 and main supply port for Fort Glenn on Umnak Island. Chernofski Harbor received all of the incoming supplies for Fort Glenn, and barges would transfer the supplies to Umnak Island. Chernofski is the best natural harbor on the northwest coast of Unalaska Island and the site was used as a transfer port for supplies destined for Fort Glenn on adjacent Umnak Island.
The ruins consist of docks, a coal pile, buildings, communications towers, a submarine net, barbed wire, petroleum, oil, and lubricant drums, pipelines, and batteries. Most of the remaining debris can be found on both sides of Mutton Cove and on Cutter Point. Read more here and here. Click here to download the CoastView app and explore Chernofski Harbor.