See more pictures of Ninilchik here:
Ninilchik is a village at Cape Ninilchik on the Kenai Peninsula, on the east shore of Cook Inlet, 38 miles (61 km) southwest of Kenai, Alaska. Road access is from the Sterling Highway, and it is 188 miles (303 km) from Anchorage and 44 miles (71 km) from Homer.
Ninilchik was originally a settlement formed around fur-farming and fishing. Before the arrival of Europeans, Ninilchik was a Dena'ina Athabaskan lodging area used for hunting and fishing. The name Ninilchik probably derives from Niqnilchint, a Dena'ina Athabaskan word meaning "lodge is built place". The first Europeans who permanently settled in the village were Russian colonists who moved from Kodiak Island in 1847. They were Grigorii Kvasnikov, his Russian-Alutiiq wife Mavra Rastorguev, and their children. They were soon joined by the Oskolkoff family. Their dialect of Russian became the primary non-native language spoken in the community.
In the 1940s, a number of American homesteaders began to live in the area, and in 1949, the Berman Packing Company began fish canning operations at Ninilchik. In 1950, the Sterling Highway was completed connecting the town to the state road network. The original village was located at the mouth of the Ninilchik River where a small harbor was constructed. The name Ninilchik is used today to refer to the original village as well as the extensive surrounding community along the highway between the Ninilchik River and Deep Creek. Today Ninilchik is a tourist destination, popular for salmon and halibut fishing, and for Pacific razor clams that are dug from the beaches during extremely low tides. Read more here and here. Download the latest version of the CoastView app and explore more of Ninilchik here: