Garibaldi is a small town in Tillamook Bay that was named by early settlers for Giuseppe Garibaldi, an Italian general who contributed to the Italian unification and the creation of the Kingdom of Italy in 1861. Coast Guard Station Tillamook Bay has been an active duty installation since 1908. The boathouse at Garibaldi was built in 1936. Set at the end of a 760-foot wooden pier with a marine railway, it could accommodate two 36-foot-motor lifeboats and one 26-foot oar-powered surfboat. The railway allowed the boats to be rapidly launched fully-manned into the water. The two-story structure was decommissioned in the 1960s. Read more here and here. Click here to download the CoastView app and explore more of Garibaldi and Tillamook Bay.